LOMA logo
Certificate SRI

FSRI Level I

Certificate in Retirement Essentials

Available in: English


The first level in the Fellow, Secure Retirement Institute (FSRI) provides an overview of the U.S. retirement system and industry and a strong foundation in retirement principles, products, and planning.

The three Level 1 courses:

  • Provide foundational knowledge to help employees understand the retirement system and industry, including regulations that apply, the three pillars for retirement resources, products for saving and investing, and retirement planning
  • Describe tax issues related to retirement savings and how various retirement plans and products work in the accumulation and decumulation stages

A Certificate in Retirement Essentials is awarded upon completion of three required courses, which are delivered in an online interactive format with integrated exams.


  • The Retirement System
  • Pillar I: Basic Government Pension/Social Security
  • Pillar II: Workplace Retirement Plans 
  • Pillar III: Individual Financial Resources
  • The Pre-Retirement Life Stage
  • The Retirement Life Stage
  • Financial Education and Planning
  • Types of Investments, Returns, and Risks
  • Portfolio Creation and Management


Learners must complete three required courses to earn the Certificate in Retirement Essentials.

SRI 111 — Retirement Fundamentals

This online interactive course provides a holistic view of the retirement system and industry as well as need-to-know retirement planning and preparation information.

SRI 121 — Retirement Savings and Investments

This online interactive course is designed to familiarize students with various retail and institutional financial products used to save and invest for retirement, as well as the tax implications of those products.

SRI 131 — Planning for a Secure Retirement

This online interactive course takes learners through the retirement planning process, identifies the tools that are available to help individuals create a retirement plan, and describes the primary components of a comprehensive retirement plan.


Level 1: Certificate
Required courses
Learners must complete all three required courses
to earn the Certificate.
SRI 111SRI 121SRI 131
Retirement FundamentalsRetirement Savings and InvestmentsPlanning for a Secure Retirement

      Retirement Events